Tot Time – Introducing the letter A

Tot School

My tot is 21.5 months old

We began our adventure with the alphabet this week. Carissa at 1+1+1 has created a really great set of printables for toddlers. They have proven very engaging for my little tot, who would spend half the day simply sitting and colouring them if I didn’t eventually redirect her. I am also keeping with our toyshelf, though admittedly it got less attention than usual because Monkey Girl kept asking for “More, More, More” of the printables.

Because we have changed things up quite a bit, I am going to outline our activities by day. I probably won’t do this in the future, but I think it might help me think through what to plan for this week too!

Monday:

We started off with watching Aa videos on Starfall, 1+1+1’s members only section and an Ipad app focusing on shapes and letters.

Next we played with some toys from her shelf. She very much enjoyed the stacking rings – doing them over, and over and over again. I think we spent 45 minutes on that alone! Her new finger puppets from IKEA were a hit too!

 

Finally, I gathered some leter Aa flashcards, magnetic letters, etc and placed them in a basket. We played with them and talked about the sound that the letter A makes and the shape of the small and large Aa. I brought out my old letter stickers from my scrapbooking area and we made an uppercase an A apple and a lowercase A apple. Since she is so nutty over stickers, i knew Monkey Girl would be big on this activity!

Tuesday:

We didn’t spend too much time on Totschool activities on Tuesday because of appointments, etc. However, after school, I brought out some of her printables. Mr. Hockey and Electric Lady (both in 4th grade) spied them and just had to join in the fun! The three of them dabbed, coloured and “ah ah appled” for about an hour. We only used the Aa dabber page, Aa item colouring page, Find the Aa’s dabber page and the main letter sheet on this day.

 

Wednesday:

Monkey Girl wasn’t feeling so hot on Wednesday and had a lousey nights sleep on Tuesday night so we kept things low key. We read a lot of books, played with her stacking rings and watched more starfall and 1+1+1 power point shows. Daddy did some more Aa dabbing with her while Momma had a meeting.

Thursday:

We were back on track on Thursday, with Monkey girl asking for printables right away. We made A’s on the playdough sheet, did more Find the Aa dabbing and played with her flash cards. She was so proud of her Aa apples she made on Monday. She also began actually calling an A… an “A” and could answer “ah ah” (everything comes in 2 or three with words for her!) when asked “What sound does an A make.” Nice to see progress!

  

Friday:

We used the left to right, the find the shape and colouring apples printables (which I forgot to take a photo of) and then went to work on sequencing. Monkey Girl seemed to catch onto this one right away, though immediately asked for an apple as a snack when we finished. I, of course, was happy to oblige!

After our snack, we came back to shadow matching… this one…. well, let’s just say it didn’t go over so well. This was her reaction when I asked her to help me match them. Hopefully we’ll have more luck next week.

I am looking forward to our coming week and integrating more general play with her printables. I don’t want too much focus to be on paper work but it is so hard to find a balance when she is so crazy over them!

Please click on the picture at the top to see what others have been up to.

This entry was posted in Tot-School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tot Time – Introducing the letter A

  1. Gina says:

    This is fantastic! you guys are accomplishing so much! I’m glad to hear Monkey girl likes the Tot printables! I’m thinking of starting them in September with Taitum so I’m happy for the good review! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

