Tuesday Therapy – Gifts

Last week, I talked about Love Languages.

I have been continuing this, reading and planning for our family and being intentional in showing my kids love. The language I have been focusing on this week is gifts. Instead of just zoning in on the kids languages, I have decided to take them one at a time and “practice” them each for one week before moving on to the next.

Gifts was actually surprisingly hard. Gifts are to be given regardless of behaviours, with thought put behind them and don’t necessarily need to be big. Easy… right? Well… I have a really hard time with the whole “give a gift even though the kids just spit in your face and called you a ****er”.

I did manage to get past this little road block and was able to gift each of my kids during the week (except Big Guy, but I have something in mind for him this weekend). They were appreicated and I felt good. Next week… onto words of affirmation!

This entry was posted in Parenting Strategies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

