Wednesday Musings – Katie’s Journey

First, I have decided to make Wednesdays a random blogging day. I need one of these and I have been struggling to find where to put it. Since I have bounced around the past two Wednesdays, I decided to pop it in here.

Next? Our family has had many ups and downs over the past year. I was recently looking (actually crying, praying and being astounded by) a blog called “the Journey” which just makes our ups and downs seem like a walk in a very beautiful, peaceful park. Don’t get me wrong, I am sure that her life is happy and fulfilled. I can see the joy on her face and on her children’s faces through the photos on the blog. However, I also read her struggles, the pain she sees daily.

Katie, the blog owner, is a remarkable young woman (21 I think) who travelled to Uganda to help with orphans and caring for those in need. Once there, she adopted fourteen little girls. I am simply amazed by the road God has led her on. And each time, she has stepped up to the plate. Sometimes God had to do a little pushing, but most of the time she jumped in with both feet.

I cannot imagine the losses she endured with her journey. Not only the loss of dear friends due to malnutrician, AIDS, etc, but the loss of her old life, he youthful years, past dreams. She amazes me with her stamina and her love for Jesus. I want to be like her. I want to be able to praise God amidst the stormiest of storms.

I was simply going to blog about our past year, in the same way that she did with her most recent post but as I got thinking more and more about her, I wanted to share her story. Please go and read her blog and if you feel it pressing on your heat, support her cause and her charity.

In case you missed the link above, here it is again. She truly is a beautiful example of selfless endurance and love.

The Journey

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

