Truths on Sunday – Jealousy…Kills?

I read the story of Cain and Abel to the kids tonight.

We visited friends for dinner so didn’t have a lot of time when we got home. I didn’t want to leave out our time with God so I didn’t dive into playdough like I had planned last week. I simply had them all sit on the floor of the playroom, read the story and then we talked about it and how Cain’s jealousy led to his terrible choice of killing his brother.

After our story, I had the kids stand up and all face the same direction. They repeated after me as I said phrases such as “Jealousy hurts other people” or “I don’t want to be a jealous person” etc. We faced a different direction for each phrase. I am hoping that by combing gross motor movement and repetition it will help the concept to stick.

Jealousy is a problem we face daily. The jealousy we face is not normal sibling rivalry but the actual desperate and deliberate berating of those who have things they do not. Queen Bee and Electric Lady are especially plagued by this problem and can be so hurtful to each other and the boys with their words. I am hoping some of my words soaked in, though I do know a lot of work still needs to be done.

This entry was posted in Bible Truths and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Truths on Sunday – Jealousy…Kills?

  1. Wonder Mom says:

    I love a simple lesson…and that pic of your kiddos is PRICELESS!

Leave a Reply

