Family – Garden Adventures and Owies

For Family Day this week, we worked together to create a garden. It was a fun venture for most of us, tho I will admit there was some complaining involved.

(Disclaimer – I am sure these are not the exact phrasings used, as this was a week ago, but this is the jist of the whole venture! I am pretty sure next time Hubbers decides that gardening is a good family day activity, I get a Veto!)

Hubbers took the time to explain what we were doing, fielding off questions such as:

Elasto boy – “So, if we help with the garden, do we get free technology after?”

Queen Bee – “EW! you expect me to touch the dirt… where bugs live?”

Electric Lady – “Can we pretend I came from an orphanage and this is the only way I can get food?”

Mr. Hockey – *spaces out during the directions* “What am I supposed to do?”

 

Everyone worked “together” to get the soil raked and fertilizer added:

Queen Bee – “It’s a SPIDER! It’s a CATERPILLAR! It’s some kind of bug and I don’t know what it is!!!!!”

Electric Lady – “And you can be the evil worker at the orphanage. Tell me I can’t have any breaks until every bit of this work is done!”

Mr. Hockey – “Awwww, look Queen Bee! That Bug is adoreable! He’s my friend!”

Elasto Boy – *Holding shovel above his head* “I’ll kill it!”

Big Guy – “Be careful! You almost beheaded Monkey Girl!”

Monkey Girl – “YAH!”

Hubbers – “Mr. Hockey, leave the bugs alone! Elasto Boy, I’ll handle the bug killing from now on.”

 

When all the soil readying was complete, we added the seeds:

Elasto Girl – “Can I go to Jayna’s now?”

Queen Bee – “I thought you were an orphan and couldn’t leave until your work is done? You haven’t even done as much as me!”

Mr. Hockey – *throws seeds to ground and starts stepping on them* “I can do it the fastest!”

Elasto Boy – “MOMMMM! Mr. Hockey is ruining all our hard work! Make him stop!”

Monkey Girl – *falls on cement* “UH OH!” “OWWW, OW, OW” MOMMMMMA”

Me – “Awww, Monkey Girl! Looks like you need your very first bandaid!”

Big Guy – “I’ll go get the watering can” (in his head “I need to escape this maddness”)

In the end, everyone was “pleased” with all our hard work.

Elasto Boy – “I love gardening!”

Mr. Hockey – *Pumps fist in air* “I’ll eat ANY vegetable that comes out of this garden!” (He hates vegetables)

Electric Lady – “And the orphan finished her garden and was able to rest and not starve… “The end… now can I go to Jayna’s?”

Queen Bee – “This was not a family day activity! You just made us be your slaves! Slave drivers! You are so mean! EWWWW there are so many  BUGS in that dirt!” etc…etc…etc…

This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Family – Garden Adventures and Owies

  1. Sara Anderson says:

    Your kids sound hilarious. Queen Bee is quite a complainer, it seems.

Leave a Reply

