Totschool – Mm is for Mouse and Mouse Houses

Tot School

My tot is 27.5 months old.

This was a weird week as Hubbers was away for most of it. We still got some nice learning time in though!

On Monday, we didn’t get any totschool going until after supper. I would have skipped it, but Monkey Girl spotted her printables from 1+1+1=1 and just HAD to use them. She did well with the shadow matching again this week!
  

She also drew this picture of a cat right before bed and amazed the socks off of me. Who knew my two year old could draw a cat?

On Tuesday, I squeezed in totschool during homework time for the bigger kids. This was such a busy day – appointment after appointment, skating lessons and major school projects to be done but I wanted to make time for my Monkey Girl as she spent most of the day being babysat by Big Guy.
We used dobbers on her printables, then made some finger print mice, which I started drawing ears and faces on. She took over the ear drawing shortly after she saw what I was doing.
  

Wednesday was a mostly normal day so we did lot’s of activities.
We started with cutting a banana.

Next, we used her tot trays. She chose the pet matching game and Daddy’s magnetic bowl with large screws and bolts. I love the look on her face as she sees her tower built up so high.
 

I put together a small sensory bin set up as a pet shop. I put rice in a blue double bowl for food, blue macaroni in a dish for water for the fish and paper shreds for a nest for the mouse. Since my little one loves pets so much, I was not surprise she LOVED this little bin.
 

We played with the letter basket and explored the letter Mm, then made Mm is for Mouse sticker cards. This is always a favourite weekly activity!
 

Thursday was another busy day, but Monkey girl amazed me for the second time this week  by naming 3/4’s of the alphabet and then being able to put them all in her magnetic alphabet puzzle. She has never shown interest in this before.
 

Monkey Girl did some printables with her dry erase markers too, though I only got one photo.

On Friday, we painted her mouse house that we had been using to read books in throughout the week.
 

Next we worked on shapes and tracing the letter Mm.
 

We also played with her tot trays –  First, colouring pictures of Dora, Boots and their pets. (And pausing to dance with a crayon when a song about shaking your worries away came on the CD player).
  

Then, playing with her sensory bin – As I mentioned earlier, she loved this little pet shop!

Then we went to the airport to get Daddy, who we were very excited to see after a week of him being away. Hubbers is away this coming week too so I imagine it’ll be busy too but we’re going to attempt to work on the letter Nn.
To see what others are up to, click on the totschool image at the top of the page.

This entry was posted in Tot-School and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Totschool – Mm is for Mouse and Mouse Houses

  1. Dakotapam says:

    I love it! What a great idea for a sensory bin! We took a bin break as we’ve been out in the sandbox. I love the cat picture. Thank you for stopping by my place. I’ll be back!

  2. Sarah says:

    Love the cardboard house she got to paint! My kids would love to do that! Visiting from Tot School.
    Sarah at mudpiesandmakeup.blogspot.com

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the pet shop sensory bin! How cute is that!!! I’ll definitly steal…. UH BORROW… that idea haha!

    visiting from http://www.worldgoneblue.blogspot.com

    P.S. Your daughter is so darn cute!

  4. Jenny says:

    I love that she asks to do her printables. 🙂 The sticker card activity would probably be a hit with my little boy too.

    Thanks for stopping by to check out my blog.

  5. Carrie says:

    Wow! I’m impressed with everything she is doing!! And I love the sensory bin. We may have to copy that. 🙂

  6. The Monko says:

    i love your sensory bin, what a fab idea. what a great selection of activities too.

Leave a Reply

