Fancy Christmas lists and Funky Christmas Garland


I am linking up to Adventures in Mommy Land. To join, or see what others are doing, click on the image above.
I get the Christmas bug every November. It is not uncommon for me to put up the tree the first weekend after Halloween, but this year we waited until the second because it has been pretty busy around here.

The kids usually catch the bug from me – Mr. Hockey is definitely my Christmas boy! He likes to be involved in everything I do to prepare.

Last week, I had them make their Christmas lists. I got this idea from Adventures in Mommy Land. Mr. Hockey, Electric Lady and Monkey Girl participated in this fun way to do a list while Elastoboy and Big Guy decided to do the traditional Christmas list.
It was pretty simple – cut out what you’d like, glue them on a big tree drew by Mom on butcher paper. I think they are pretty cute.
  

We also made Christmas Garland out of pipe cleaners. While at Micheals I saw some being sold for 8 bucks a piece and decided we could do this at home (For 4 dollars for the whole bunch. I would have needed 5 packages from Micheals!). I love the way they turned out and how they look on the tree! The kids had fun making them too – and made candy canes and other decorations once we finished!
 

The garland was very easy to make. I just got one package of red and one package of green pipe cleaners from Micheals, showed the kids how to link them together (like a paper chain) and twist the sides around each other to make a circle. It really didn’t take very long with so many helping hands!
  

You can see how nicely they stand out (I was worried the green would get lost in the tree) in this picture of Mr. Hockey hanging decorations. I will post a finished tree picture in my family update post tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Christmas, Crafts, Holidays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fancy Christmas lists and Funky Christmas Garland

  1. Jackie says:

    I can’t believe you already have a tree up! We usually decorate around thanksgiving… but I do love Christmas lights so I guess I should put them up earlier 🙂 I like the idea of the pipe cleaner chains, they could probably withstand a 1 1/2 year old tugging on them better than paper chains. I may have to give it a try.

  2. Jenny says:

    I love how your pipe cleaner garland turned out! Very cool family holiday project. 🙂

  3. Great idea…looks cute.

    Thanks for sharing on Hey Mom, Look What I Did at Adventures In Mommy Land…hope to see you again soon!!

  4. Fantastic post, I really look forward to updates from you.
    Heart Healthy Diet

Leave a Reply

