Making Nativity Masks from Princesses




Click on the buttons above to see other great ideas!

For our church’s Christmas presentation, the children in our Sunday School class are putting on a bit of a play. They are creating masks and saying a little poem for each part.

When looking for supplies for making the masks at Michaels, we found some neat princess masks. I had the idea that I could turn them into Mary, Joseph, shepherds, angels, wisemen and even cows and sheep.

I started with this:

Then drew new lines on the princesses with a pencil and used clippers to cut off the unwanted pieces of wood.
 

I used white acrylic paint to paint each mask totally white.
 

I used a sharpie permanent marker to add details – this was the fun part. I think they look sort of like playmobile people!

And finally, the kiddos painting them at church on Sunday. I forgot to get a photo of the finished masks, but they did turn out pretty cute. Maybe I can get a photo this Sunday!
 

This entry was posted in Christmas, Crafts, Holidays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Making Nativity Masks from Princesses

  1. Beth says:

    What a great activity! How fun for reinacting the Christmas story – LOVE it! Thanks for linking up to TGIF! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving & we’ll see you next week,
    Beth =-)

  2. Oh my gosh these are AWESOME!!! You are so creative!!! Love this.

  3. Carrie says:

    What a clever idea! I would love it if you would share it at my sharing party at http://craftymomsshare.blogspot.com/2011/11/sharing-saturday-6.html. Thank you!

  4. Carrie says:

    Thank you!! I hope you will share again with us next week!

Leave a Reply

