Slowing Down for Christmas

When skating this Thursday afterschool, Mr. Hockey said “Hey Mom, I really like skating with you. It’s nice, relaxing and slow.” Now, I am sure he was commenting on my slow skating as I’m not the best on hockey skates, but it summed up my thoughts this December. “I’m really enjoying myself. It’s nice, relaxing and slow.”

At a time when life feels like it should be speeding up, spending time at home when so many “fun” events are happening in the city, reading stories rather than going shopping is not something I have really focused on in years past.

This year I have been taking the time with my family and I am really enjoying it so much more. Don’t get me wrong, I did “Christmassy” activities with them in other years, but it never felt like MY childhood Christmasses at my Grandparents farm. It always felt fabricated, rushed and like I should be enjoying it a lot more than I really was. I think the kids felt it too.

I don’t know what changed this year – Perhaps I feel more comfortable in my role as mom. Perhaps it is because most of the kids in our home have been with us a long time and know that it is safe here. Perhaps I have just stopped trying so hard and realized that it comes so much easier.

Anyway, I’m enjoying a slower paced Christmas with a few less Christmas parties (Though I think spending time with good friends and family IS important too – thus going to the most important ones), a few less shopping trips and a few more evenings at home, just being with my family. This is my plan of action this Christmas.

 

This entry was posted in Christmas, Holidays, Parenting Strategies, Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slowing Down for Christmas

  1. I absolutely love this post! I agree with all of it….Christmas is a time to be slow and enjoy family, but most of the time it feels like we are doing the opposite.

Leave a Reply

