Totschool – Ss is for Stars and adventures with Water Beads

Tot School

My tot is 31 months old.

We did a theme centred around stars this week and  Monkey Girl really enjoyed herself. All of the printables came from 1+1+1=1’s totschool printables.
It was family day on Monday so we didn’t do any totschool activities.

On Tuesday, we started out with playing in a sensory bin that I whipped together for her. It had a plain white rice base, with fabric and foam stars strewn throughout. I had also hidden some pretty jewels and stones, a treasure box and some alphabet beads in the rice. She really enjoyed using her spoons, scoops and measuring cups with this bin.
  

Monkey Girl was quiet eager to get into her printables too, especially since I had brought out the sheet protectors and dry erase markers. We then played a round of shadow matching, which is really too easy for her now but we do it anyway because she loves them so much!
  

Finally, we ended with some choices from her tot trays and learning shelf toys. She chose her counting cards and glass rocks and her shape sorter. We then did calendar and called it a day.
  

On Tuesday, right before bed, Monkey Girl and I put some water beads in water. The next morning, she was so excited to see what they had become. Since we had to investigate first thing, the other kids had not yet gone to school and as you can see below, they were a big hit with everyone!
  

We also practiced counting and traced S’s on Wednesday morning.
 

Monkey Girl especially liked a game where I asked her to find shapes and put them on various body parts. She kept asking to “do more of that, Momma.”
  

Thursday was filled with appointments and cleaning up the house. Monkey Girl was very helpful in the cleaning part! I love how she grabs her little broom whenever I go to sweep with the big one!

On Friday we made her Sticker cards for the letter S and played Eye Spy with Prince Charming.
 

Because we didn’t do as many days with the letter Ss as I would have liked, we did some on Saturday too. We didn’t have much else to do and Monkey Girl loves her printables!
  

The nice thing about totschool on Saturdays, is that big brothers join in – making it all the more fun!

I have been setting up trays for Prince Charming on Tuesday and Friday afternoons, to keep him quiet after his visits while Monkey Girl has her nap. He always gets to choose which or how many he wants to do. This time he chose making a bracelet out of pony beads, measuring items and using a whole punch on Tuesday.
  

On Friday, he never made it past the water beads and spent all afternoon playing with them!

And that would be it for this week, folks!

This entry was posted in Tot-School and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Totschool – Ss is for Stars and adventures with Water Beads

  1. This is the second place I have seen kids using those water beads for playing! Aren’t they for plants or something? I think I saw them at the Dollar Tree once. I have to give them a try I guess – water fun with no mess. 🙂

  2. karlamcurry says:

    We just got some water beads, too – really cool! I was surprised how fragile they are, though; a couple of them split in half. I’m trying to think of some more creative ways to play with them that won’t involve TOO much of a mess because they leave a watery trail. 🙂

    • anneabell says:

      I was surprised at how fragile they were too! My bigger kids enjoyed squishing them, until I caught them and sent them away=) They are a bit messy, but not nearly as bad as rice which has been the sensory experience of choice lately at my house. I’ll take the water beads=p I found playing with them on a blanket really helped keep the mess under control.

  3. Melissa says:

    Looks like fun. Glad you guys had a great week

  4. Linda says:

    We loved water beads at our house too! Honestly no one could walk by them without sticking their hand in and that usually led to both hands and some fun sensory time for all of us. Looks like you had a lot of fun activities this week!

    I wanted to tell you I tagged you on my blog 🙂 It was just for fun, when you have time!
    http://kiltsandkimchee.blogspot.com/2012/02/blog-tag-i-had-funnest-surprise-last.html

Leave a Reply

