Spelling… With Creativity!

 

Electric Lady HATES any form of homework.
I know most kids don’t enjoy it, even say they dislike it but for her… it is totally true. She jumps up and down, has a tantrum, starts being saucy at even the simplest of tasks and if it is going to take more than 5 minutes, she has a total meltdown in the middle of the kitchen floor.

 

For this reason, I was incredibly pleased when I found her in the middle of the floor with colourful pieces of paper and a black sharpy, not once, not twice but four times last week, practicing her spelling words. I didn’t even have to tell her to practice, she set herself up all on her own! Making word art was on the agenda for this week and she asked me to tape each finished page to the artwall – it is a bit filled with spelling words right now but that is okay as long as my girl is learning; she got perfect on her spelling test this week!

Mr. Hockey was not one to be left out, so he quickly joined the fun and spent ages trying to fit all his words on 2 pages of paper – written three times each and in very creative ways. He got perfect this week too!

I love it when my kids use their creativity in useful ways!

This entry was posted in Crafts, Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spelling… With Creativity!

  1. I bet it’s the sharpies… those things are irresistible, even to me! Great way to practice spelling.

  2. halfadozenkids says:

    I agree with Jackie…I love sharpies too! I’m glad she found a way to practice and is doing so well with it! Thanks for sharing on Hey Mom, Look What I Did at Adventures In Mommy Land…hope to see you again soon!

  3. halfadozenkids says:

    I agree with Jackie…I love sharpies too! I’m glad she found a creative way to study and is doing so well. Thanks for sharing this on Hey Mom, Look What I Did at Adventures In Mommy Land..hope to see you again soo!

Leave a Reply

