Totschool With the Little Ones- Learning about the Letter Bb!

Tot School

 

My tots are between 2 and 4 years old!

I love to teach! I took got a Bachelor of Education when I went to university and adore being with preschoolers. They are so inquisitive, funny and make everything seem more fun… well except maybe their tantrums!

Anyway, I have been doing totschool with Monkey Girl for the past 2 years and was always ecstatic to include any little foster children that joined our family. Now, though, it is my job to teach, play and take care of even more little ones! Through the day I always have 6 – my little 3 year old biological daughter (Monkey Girl), my foster children, Little Why (also 3) and Angel Eyes (2) and three little friends each day. Two of our little friends are full time and two are partime, coming on alternate days. It makes for a busy day, but we have such a fun time together.

I need to mention that I have way more photos of my little Monkey Girl on here, but all the kids have the option (and usually choose to) participate in all the activities. She’s just my own child, so I can post her face on here!

All of that to say, I am excited to share our second week with you!
On Monday we coloured and traced in our Letter Notebooks with Animal Alphabet printables from 1+1+1=1, washed pennies and used the leapfrog singing alphabet fridge toy. (Which no longer lives on the fridge because Angel Eyes thinks it is great fun to shove the magnets under the fridge and I am seriously tired of digging them out!)
  

We also made the open ended Animal Alphabet  craft from 1+1+1=1. This time we used blue tempera paint for the letter and then glued the bears on it. I love how cute they are all in a row! You can’t tell from the picture, but they are all different in their painting techniques!
  

On Tuesday we talked about bears during circle and calendar time. Please ignore the weekly theme – I forgot to change it! We do circle and calendar every day – I just had a chance to get a photo this time!

The kiddos also made Shape Boats with glue and construction paper shapes that I had cut out and played with tot trays. This day, I pulled out a marker lid colour sorting game that I had made with a bunch of old marker lids and some egg dyeing cups, a treasure chest filled with fun treasures to explore, our magnetic kitty cat set and a floating and sinking experiment. The floating and sinking was by far their favourite!
 
 

We also had some fun outside playing in the sand with big trucks and the “noodle table”.
 

On Wednesday, our tot trays (or table toys as a couple of my kiddos call them) included the animal tube, a magnetic car puzzle, 2 trays of playdough with various “b” cookie cutters and moulds, a salt tray with tools and the “B” cookie cutter and a small chalk board and chalk.
  

And painted bear masks.
 

On Thursday, we played Sleeping Bears and made mini pizza’s for lunch.
  

We also used our table toys. I took a picture of them after I set them up. This day Little Why and Angel Eyes were away for a couple of hours so I only had 4 kiddos. We had our mini Hello Kitty toys and playmat, drawing bears with an oversized pen, matching fish cards and our lacing bear set.
  

Friday included drawing with chalk, riding bikes and playing a game where they jumped on the shapes I called out. Monkey Girl and Little Why thought it was a blast but the others were far more interested in using bikes and ride on cars!
We also painted this day but I forgot to get pictures!
 
 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Totschool With the Little Ones- Learning about the Letter Bb!

  1. Dawn says:

    It looks like a fun week at your house. I love the chalk shapes on the driveway! By the way, I thought I was busy with 3 small kids of my own (4, 3, and 18 mos) and an extra 4 year old who we babysit…I think I have it easy compared to you 😉

  2. Allison says:

    Looks like a great week! I love the shape jumping. I had to LOL at the magnets, because we have the same issue here. I used to keep our Leapfrog toy on the garage fridge, so my little ones could play while I folded laundry. How they manage to shove the little pieces between the fridge and the dryer is beyond me.

Leave a Reply

