Bright, Colourful and Oh So Nice Christmas Trees

I just love Christmas Trees! They always give me the feeling that Christmas is in the air. The bright and glittery decorations, shining lights and all the fun of decorating. One of my favourite memories and traditions from my childhood was staying up late and decorating the tree with my mom – it never failed that we were still rearranging when the clock struck midnight!

My love for Christmas trees doesn’t stop there though. I love Christmas tree pictures, ornaments and crafts. I was so excited when I saw this cool tree on pinterest (Which I am still on a waiting list for) and had to try it out.

What you need:
Small squares of tissue paper
Glue
Page protector, cut so the two sides are separate
Card stock

Note: They used contact paper but I had none, so I cut a page protector in half and had the kids smear it with a glue stick. It worked just as well – if not better because the tissue paper could be rearranged.

First, we covered the page protector with glue, then tested it with our fingers to see if it was sticky yet.

Second, we filled the page with peices of tissue paper, making sure to cover up all the holes. I love how Monkey Girls is all over the place and Flash’s is very precise and organized.
 

Last, we placed a cardstock tree (that I had cut out before I brought the kids to the table) on the opposite side of the plastic sheet. I cut around the tree, and wah-la, a finished project.

They look really lovely in the window! Flash took his home with him on Monday, but Monkey Girl’s is shining proudly in the window every time the sun comes out.

Linking this one up to the Christmas Carnival!

This entry was posted in Crafts, Holidays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bright, Colourful and Oh So Nice Christmas Trees

  1. beth says:

    That turned out super cute! What a fun craft! Thanks for linking up to TGIF! See you next week,
    Beth =-)

  2. I love these beautifully colorful Christmas trees! They turned out great!

  3. Lindsi B says:

    Aw look at those adorable glass stained trees! I would love for you to share this with our readers for Fun Stuff Fridays? http://www.toysinthedryer.com/2011/12/fun-stuff-fridays-2.html

  4. PrairieJenn says:

    We’ve done this same activity with other shapes, but I hadn’t thought of a Christmas tree. Cute!! Thanks for sharing:)

Leave a comment